History of the Henry Hansen House
This 1895 structure was built as a single residence for Henry M. Hansen. Hansen was the secretary of Hansen Coal and Ice Company.
This mansion is an example of the late Queen Anne architectural period. The first story of the building is brick and the south east corner shows a single story round bay of brick. The second story is wood. Projecting bay windows also grace the south and west sides from ground to roof. Queen Anne was a very popular architectural style that started in the 1880s.
The extensive variety and amount of Victorian architecture in St. Joseph is almost unprecedented. Unlike many historic towns where there exists a street or small district, St. Joseph struggles to preserve unique architectural treasures from "The Green Acres" in the north to south of "The Livestock Exchange" building.
Leave Comments for the Owner
HENRY HANSEN HOUSE
Built by Henry M. Hansen in 1895
Current Residents: Brent Larson
In 1895, Death of Frederick Douglas